Skip to content
Leeds Counts — Leeds, in numbers.Local help →

Leeds · England

People and living standards

Leeds council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Leeds

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Leeds local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 706,724 in 1991 to 840,550 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Leeds council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 715,774 people in 1996; 840,550 people in 2025. 17.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Leeds council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991706,724
1992710,427
1993713,291
1994712,903
1995713,694
1996715,774
1997716,309
1998715,925
1999714,879
2000713,366
2001715,609
2002716,380
2003717,592
2004723,042
2005735,054
2006736,204
2007738,560
2008741,665
2009743,885
2010747,571
2011750,683
2012758,029
2013764,369
2014770,434
2015777,987
2016786,739
2017793,134
2018797,696
2019804,640
2020808,443
2021809,479
2022819,992
2023833,035
2024842,884
2025840,550
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Leeds council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 147,684 people in 1996; 152,594 people in 2025. 3.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Leeds council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991140,347
1992142,740
1993145,054
1994146,537
1995147,131
1996147,684
1997147,797
1998147,769
1999145,655
2000144,150
2001142,725
2002138,900
2003135,631
2004133,708
2005133,248
2006133,255
2007133,602
2008133,985
2009134,962
2010136,269
2011137,734
2012139,216
2013141,241
2014143,542
2015145,893
2016148,568
2017150,614
2018152,197
2019153,512
2020153,600
2021153,277
2022153,537
2023154,044
2024154,540
2025152,594
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Leeds council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 457,376 people in 1996; 554,146 people in 2025. 21.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Leeds council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991455,832
1992456,880
1993457,282
1994455,499
1995455,711
1996457,376
1997458,212
1998458,022
1999459,666
2000459,888
2001463,228
2002467,895
2003472,523
2004480,214
2005492,831
2006494,648
2007497,060
2008499,492
2009500,178
2010501,746
2011502,741
2012505,252
2013507,239
2014508,700
2015512,180
2016516,700
2017519,606
2018521,526
2019525,699
2020528,799
2021528,762
2022537,769
2023548,905
2024556,117
2025554,146
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Leeds council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 110,714 people in 1996; 133,810 people in 2025. 20.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Leeds council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991110,545
1992110,807
1993110,955
1994110,867
1995110,852
1996110,714
1997110,300
1998110,134
1999109,558
2000109,328
2001109,656
2002109,585
2003109,438
2004109,120
2005108,975
2006108,301
2007107,898
2008108,188
2009108,745
2010109,556
2011110,208
2012113,561
2013115,889
2014118,192
2015119,914
2016121,471
2017122,914
2018123,973
2019125,429
2020126,044
2021127,440
2022128,686
2023130,086
2024132,227
2025133,810
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 811,953 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Leeds · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh78,5039.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African45,3765.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups27,3883.4%
White641,80179%
Other ethnic group18,8852.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 751,485 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Leeds · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White639,48785.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups19,6322.6%
Asian/Asian British58,2437.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British25,8933.4%
Other ethnic group8,2301.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 715,402 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Leeds · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White657,08291.8%
Mixed9,7371.4%
Asian/Asian British32,2904.5%
Black/Black British10,3181.4%
Chinese/Other5,9750.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 13% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Leeds council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,956 per person in 1997; £22,588 per person in 2024. 126.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Leeds council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,956
199810,141
199910,598
200011,262
200111,629
200211,916
200312,219
200412,456
200512,659
200613,123
200713,788
200814,023
200914,315
201014,459
201114,795
201215,027
201315,443
201415,806
201516,519
201616,625
201717,053
201817,712
201918,419
202018,541
202119,196
202220,177
202321,495
202422,588
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Leeds council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -6.2% in 1997; -13% in 2024. 6.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Leeds council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-6.2
1998-6.3
1999-6.3
2000-5.4
2001-6
2002-5.8
2003-6.3
2004-8.2
2005-10
2006-10.4
2007-10.2
2008-11
2009-10.6
2010-10.5
2011-9.2
2012-11
2013-11.8
2014-12.6
2015-13.2
2016-13.7
2017-13.4
2018-13.2
2019-12.6
2020-11.7
2021-12.1
2022-12.1
2023-12.1
2024-13
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

18.8%

21 March 2021 · Leeds local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.2%

21 March 2021 · Leeds local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5%

21 March 2021 · Leeds local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£248,000

July 2026 · Leeds local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,145

August 2026 · Leeds local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.